Attean Lake Lodge has been greeting guests since John Thomson McLaughlin, of Rahway, New Jersey, first advertised his Attean Camps, Jackman, Maine, in the August 18, 1895, issue of the New York Herald as a place “for sportsmen and families; unique log cabins, comfortably furnished and charmingly located; 18 square miles of the best fishing and hunting grounds in Maine.”
The following spring, of 1896, John was joined by his wife, the former Elizabeth Andrews Dyer and his three sons on Birch Island for the summer. Unfortunately, John died from complications of an appendectomy operation on May 20, 1896, and was buried in the Whipple Cemetery, Jackman, Maine. Elizabeth McLaughlin continued as the proprietor of Attean Camps until 1899 when the business was sold to Sullivan Newton of Jackman.
Following the proprietorships of Sullivan Newton, C. S. Cook of Boston, and Fred Henderson of Jackman, brothers Henry and Ruel Holden of Jackman purchased Attean Camps in 1905.
Four descending generations of Ruel Holden have now graciously maintained this unique island retreat on Attean Lake “the most beautiful lake in Maine” for over 115 years. Today the camps are managed and carefully maintained by Brad & Andrea Holden, their son Barrett & Josie.
ATTEAN CAMPS, ATTEAN LAKE, JACKMAN, MAINE
Postcard from 1913
Right: ‘Walden’ This camp was first known as the “Casino”
The two camps on the right are the only camps dating from 1895 that exist today from the McLaughlin/Sullivan era.
J. Harlan Buzby, November, 2015